Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Remote 4x firmware upgrade, can it be done?

  1. #1

    Exclamation Remote 4x firmware upgrade, can it be done?

    I have a remote Epygi 4x. I need to update the firmware to the latest released firmware.
    The current firmware is 5.2.39 and I am upgrading it to 5.2.26.
    The system is remote, using a USB drive for voicemail and I cannot get on location.

    I was considering using the system/firmware update, but it warns me it has to do a manual restart????

    So I downloaded, Quadro Configuration console, to update the firmware remotely. I executed per instructions, it uploaded and then the box became available. Went in, and the box reports firmware 5.2.39...didn't upgrade......

    what is the procedure for remotely updating the firmware?

    Thank you
    Shawn

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    HORNSBY, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    122

    Default

    I've upgraded many Quadro 2x units remotely without problems.

    HOWEVER to minimise risk:

    1)
    Make sure you have a stable Internet link:- say >1500kb down

    2)
    After its rebooted, it will prompt for 20min to accept the upgrade, so you need to login and confirm the upgrade, otherwise it will backout of the upgrade.

    3)
    I have seen Quadros need a power-cycle, (not reboot), before they would come alive again. So have a contingency plan for someone to go on site to remove the power lead for 10s or so and plug it back in.

    4)
    Don't do any upgrade at the beginning of the business day:- do it at the end of the day, so if something goes pear-shaped, you can fix it overnight.

    5)
    In another thread, it has been reported sometimes USB drives have to be manually remounted after a reboot, so check the USB drive has mounted after the reboot.

    6)
    I've never used Quadro 2x with PPPoE, so if you are using your Quadro as a PPPoE router, check with other folks here if you can upgrade remotely when using PPPoE.

    My setups are always fixed IP, so haven't had any problems.

  3. #3

    Default

    Daryl,

    Thank you for the post!

    Between steps 1 and 2, are you doing the manual firmware update?

    Thanks
    Shawn

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    HORNSBY, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Yes, manual firmware upgrade, just through the webadmin pages, not using Quadro Configuration Console.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Remote 4x firmware upgrade, can it be done?
    By sring in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 12:52 PM
  2. Remote firmware upgrade/install
    By sring in forum Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 12:51 PM
  3. Firmware Upgrade Procedure for 2X
    By Commdude in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2010, 05:14 PM
  4. Upgrade Quadro 4X firmware
    By pmam in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-29-2009, 10:18 AM
  5. Upgrade 2.3 firmware on 2X
    By stakano in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-21-2009, 10:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •