Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: "System Overload" MG note: G729 codec's limit

  1. #1

    Default "System Overload" MG note: G729 codec's limit

    Why do I get a G729 codec error. Nowhere does it stipulate G729 restrictions. We run everything on G729 as we have huge bandwidth issues in South Africa.

    Running a Epygi 6L.

  2. #2
    Quadro Architect
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around myself
    Posts
    2,075

    Default

    6L has a license limit of 6 simultaneous G.729 calls. On older 6Ls there was a bug, which allowed only 3 calls. Probably you are using the firmware wwithout that fix.

  3. #3

    Default

    I have the lastest firmware , but i have the same problem.

  4. #4

    Default

    If you have the appropriate account then please submit the ticket to Epygi technical support attaching the systemlogs from Quadro indicating the mentioned issue.

    thanks

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davrays View Post
    6L has a license limit of 6 simultaneous G.729 calls. On older 6Ls there was a bug, which allowed only 3 calls. Probably you are using the firmware wwithout that fix.
    To be clear, does this mean 6 simultaneous transcoding calls (G.711 to G.729) or 6 G.729 calls even if they are G.729 end-to-end (from phone through the Epygi to the ITSP)?

  6. #6
    Quadro Architect
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around myself
    Posts
    2,075

    Default

    That mean G.729 call that include decoding/encoding on the Quadro (not transcoding though!). Those caalls are: calls to/from FXS lines, to/from FXO lines, to AA, to VM (voicemail recording). Maybe some other, more rare cases too.

    In case if call just passes through Quadro (calls between IP Phones or IP Phone to ITSP, for example), there is no license used on the Quadro, as the encoding/decodding is done on the phone and on the ITSP gateway side.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. "System Overload" in Epygi E1
    By voztelecom in forum Troubleshooting and Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2009, 01:10 PM
  2. Quadro 16x - SIP Phone show "Network error" when dialing
    By DuettoFavorit in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2009, 04:55 PM
  3. Quadro 2X "The Number You Have Dialled Is Unavailable"
    By P00HB33R in forum Troubleshooting and Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2008, 12:18 PM
  4. Voice mail message sound is "dial tone" except words.
    By riskdata in forum Troubleshooting and Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 12:09 PM
  5. Use built-in TFTP server to provision "Other" phones
    By mobidutch in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-18-2008, 09:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •