Thread: Cisco IP phones 7940

Hi, I'm new to this voip stuff, but have been a network engineer for years.

I have just recently purchased a quadro 2x, and have a cisco 7940 phone.
    How would I go about connecting these two? etc.

Please start from the beginning :P
    I have noticed that the quadro 2x only supports certain phones, hence my question.
    If you could possibly outline to me why the two won't work together out of the box, I would really appreciate that.
    From what I understood but use the SIP protocol.

I found this documentation here http://www.epygi.com/pdf/TS/Cisco796...nefor2_4_x.pdf for the cisco 7960, i wish there was one for the 7940.
    Many Thanks
    Jurgen
    Last edited by bsnquadro; 01-13-2008 at 08:38 PM.

Hi, there are 3 categories of IP-Phones that can be configured and used with Quadro.

1. Recommended phones - these are the Snom and Aastra phones. Quadro supports P-n-P functionality and all the Quadro features (like Call Hold, Transfer, etc.) for them.
    2. Tested phones - all other phones in the phone's list in the IP-Lines settings page (Cisco 7960, Grandstream, Polycom, etc). Quadro supports Autoprovisioning for these phones, but certine features may not work.
    3. Other phones, that are out of Recommended and Tested phones. These phones can be configured with Quadro in manual way, if they work according to SIP RFCs, but we do not gurantee the full functionality of all Quadro features using that phones.