Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: IVR to extensions

  1. #1

    Default IVR to extensions

    Hi All

    I am running a basic script and would like to add the facility where the caller can dial the extension if they know it. I have tried increasing the digit length to 2 and adding <option dtmf="31" value="31" /> but the script always picks the 1st digit. I guess this is fairly simple to someone who knows xml )

    Is there anyone who can help please? Here is the original script.

    Cheers

    Andy

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <vxml version="2.0">
    <noinput count="3">
    <prompt>
    <audio src="timeover.wav" />
    </prompt>
    <exit/>
    </noinput>
    <form id="mainform">
    <block>
    <prompt bargein="true"> <audio src="welcome.wav" /> </prompt>
    <goto nextitem="field1"/>
    </block>
    <field name="field1" type="digits?length=1" modal="false">
    <prompt timeout="5s">
    <audio src="departments.wav" />
    </prompt>
    <option dtmf="1" value="31" />
    <option dtmf="2" value="32" />
    <option dtmf="3" value="33" />
    <option dtmf="4" value="34" />
    <filled>
    <goto nextitem="field2"/>
    </filled>
    </field>
    <object name="field2" classid="connect">
    <param name="extension" expr="field1"/>
    <filled>
    <prompt> <audio src="timeover.wav" /> </prompt>
    <exit/>
    </filled>
    <nomatch>
    <goto nextitem="field1"/>
    </nomatch>
    </object>
    </form>
    </vxml>

  2. #2
    Quadro Architect
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around myself
    Posts
    2,075

    Default

    As soon as caller presses "3", the "<option dtmf="3" value="33" />" works, so your call goes to 33. You can remove the option "3", and you will be able to call to extensions starting with 3. To be able to call to extensions starting with 2, you will have to remove the option "2".

    You can do it different way - you can keep the 1-4 options, but have your callers dial one additional digit in front of extension number, for example have:

    <field name="field1" type="digits?length=3" modal="false">
    ...
    <option dtmf="1" value="31" />
    <option dtmf="2" value="32" />
    <option dtmf="3" value="33" />
    <option dtmf="4" value="34" />
    <option dtmf="031" value="31" />
    <option dtmf="034" value="34" />

    i.e. prefix extensions with "0".

    I am not sure this is the best way, but as far as I am also not a specialist in vxml, this is what I can suggest to do..

    Best regards,
    David

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi David

    Many thanks for your thoughts here.

    I will give it a bash.

    Regards
    Andy

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Remote extensions
    By darryl in forum Troubleshooting and Problems
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-24-2010, 02:19 AM
  2. Changing extensions.
    By HL2DFR in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 08:56 AM
  3. Remote Extensions
    By cembick123 in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2009, 10:49 AM
  4. extensions
    By dubnik in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 10:20 AM
  5. Extensions management
    By rwalland in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-05-2008, 11:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •