Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Email faxes received corrupted

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    107

    Default Email faxes received corrupted

    Hi Guys

    I have a user that occaisionally receives corrupt faxes in their email.

    For example, each page of the tif file starts off OK, but fizzles out with random lines and then stops, much prematurely of the full page.

    The system is ISDN10, M32x fax is routed direct to email via a virtual extension.

    Anyone seen this?

  2. #2

    Default

    Seen it myself... who is the carrier and which country ....

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Telstra.

    Melbourne city CBD.

    Not the first issue we had.. We have an ISDN 2 line which played up and caused us great pain and expense toying with asterix and some other mob... anyways in the end it WAS telstra...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Kev, any ideas on this?

    Perhaps its best to get a PSTN line?

  5. #5

    Default

    Med ?? scratches head for a first name...

    If your ISDN is being served by Telstra, and you are within the City CBD ... then you would have a direct fibre link to a breakout box ??? or is it a SHDSL service going into an NTU to convert it to ISDN ?

    On another note... is this a random event ? what sort of Compact Flash card and size are you using ? what is your 00 attendant codecs set as ?

    How much memory have you allocated to the Epygi virtual extension ?

    Do you have an example of a tiff that has been skewed and have you marked and sent the log to epygi for them to be able to verify all is well...

    Last time I had this problem was way back.. and a new firmware had to be created to do line by line error correction ( as in lines on a page ) to get around errors being introduced because of bad copper and the NTU...

    Do some calls to it from ISDN to ISDN. ie Optus ISDN to the Telstra fax, Telstra and Optus PSTN to the ISDN Telstra fax ... see if there is a pattern.
    You might even find that it is one particular exchange giving the customer grief... or even maybe even a non local number .. ie Sydney numbers beginning with 9622 or something silly like that...

    See if you can see a pattern with this... as it might be external from the Epygi....

    Kev

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    HORNSBY, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by medoneit View Post
    Hi Guys

    I have a user that occaisionally receives corrupt faxes in their email.

    For example, each page of the tif file starts off OK, but fizzles out with random lines and then stops, much prematurely of the full page.

    The system is ISDN10, M32x fax is routed direct to email via a virtual extension.

    Anyone seen this?
    Yes, I have. It appears the fax to email algorithm need a bit of work to make a robust, fault-tolerant system.

    Using a Quadro 2xi & its FXS port to a hardware fax machine, 0 problems.
    Using the Quadro's fax to email feature, some failed faxes as described above.

    Fax to email is a great feature, please get it to work reliably.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Kev, codecs enabled on the fax to wemail extension are:
    G.711u,G.711a,G.729a.

    T.38 FAX is enable
    Out of Band is enabled
    Pass through FAX is enabled.

    Is this correct?

  8. #8

    Default

    That looks right, just dont forget to turn it on in the auto attendant(s) or main 00

    Kev

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    107

    Default

    mmm..

    I have the fax call routed to user ext 180. WHy do I need it enabled in the auto attendent??

    It is my understanding that the user ext that is to receive the fax communications must have an active IP Line associated with it. Strange as it may seem..

    EDIT
    Nevermind that. I see what you mean.

    Looks quite simply like this isn't going to work.
    Last edited by medoneit; 06-16-2009 at 11:48 PM. Reason: Ammendment

  10. #10
    Quadro Architect
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around myself
    Posts
    2,075

    Default

    Epygi's fax2mail has some error-correction implementation, but it surely does not include a complex (and often proprietary) mechanisms for error correction, used in specialized FAX machines. Companies producing FAX machines are focused on that algorythms and invest big money in inventing and implementing such algorythms, so their FAX machines can work on noisy lines.

    The fax2mail in Quadro has basic error correction, which will allow to deal with some problems on the line, but it cannot guarantee 100% stable work on noisy lines... So you need to work on improving the line quality, if you have problems receiving FAXes...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fax to email
    By Synertic in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-14-2010, 10:26 AM
  2. AA fax detect but some faxes being sent as sound not tiff
    By smarthousing in forum Troubleshooting and Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2009, 09:05 AM
  3. Fax to Email
    By ccomley in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 11:07 AM
  4. Fax Receive to Email with no actual fax
    By timmeah in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2008, 08:05 AM
  5. Receiving Faxes on 2X unit
    By russell in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 01:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •