Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: "Force Self Codecs" doesn't work

  1. #1

    Default "Force Self Codecs" doesn't work

    hi!

    the "Force Self Codecs Preference for Inbound Calls" doesn't work for incoming calls, my provider offers G.711a/u and G.729, in my codecs list all 3 codecs are enabled and G.711u is on the first place, all outgoing calls are made via G.711u, but all incoming call are still made with G.729. So i removed G.729 from the list of supported codecs, now all calls (in and out) are made with G.711u - but this is imho a hack, because if someone tries to reach me without supporting G.711 the call will be negotiated.

    Another thing which irritates me is the way G.729 ist offered by epygi. the pbx is media relay for all calls from/to pstn. With two identical quadros (same model, same fw-release), but with different phones as extensions (different vendors), in one case in SDP g.729 is offered, on the other pbx g.729a, because the ITSP offeres only g.729b the call setup seems to be handled different for both szenarios. I also tried to handling it via changing the value on the hidden codecs page, but without any result.

    quadro 2xi
    fw 5.0.16

    best regards,
    sip5060

  2. #2
    Quadro Architect
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around myself
    Posts
    2,075

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sip5060 View Post
    hi!

    the "Force Self Codecs Preference for Inbound Calls" doesn't work for incoming calls, my provider offers G.711a/u and G.729, in my codecs list all 3 codecs are enabled and G.711u is on the first place, all outgoing calls are made via G.711u, but all incoming call are still made with G.729. So i removed G.729 from the list of supported codecs, now all calls (in and out) are made with G.711u - but this is imho a hack, because if someone tries to reach me without supporting G.711 the call will be negotiated.
    Please look which codec and in which order you have on the IP Phone itself. When you call from IP Phone to ITSP or vice versa, the PBX is in the role of mediator, and often it cannot force anything (as forcing could easily bring to call drop by one of the sides of negotiations). Make sure you have the same order on the IP phone (G.711u on the first place, then G.729), and see how it affects on the call.

    Quote Originally Posted by sip5060 View Post
    Another thing which irritates me is the way G.729 ist offered by epygi. the pbx is media relay for all calls from/to pstn. With two identical quadros (same model, same fw-release), but with different phones as extensions (different vendors), in one case in SDP g.729 is offered, on the other pbx g.729a, because the ITSP offeres only g.729b the call setup seems to be handled different for both szenarios. I also tried to handling it via changing the value on the hidden codecs page, but without any result.
    quadro 2xi
    fw 5.0.16
    best regards,
    sip5060
    I don't really see what is iiritating you.. First of all there is no such voice codec as G.729b. G.729b is the "G.279 Annex B", which refers to the VAD/CNG specification. So your ITSP (and any other SIP device, could offer either G729 (full-encoded G.729), or G729a (Lower Complexity encoded G.729). From SIP negotiations standpoint, these two are completely the same (as both are decoded the same way).

    Thus, Quadro is trying to be maximally compatible to all those different devices with often contradicting implementations, and uses either G.729 or G.729a, depending on what phones prefer to use.
    This ensures that the call is established. And if call is successfully established and all parties listen each other, who cares what was sent in the SDP? So there is no reason to be irritated, at least for you as a user . To be true, we, as developers are often irritated by the ways different devices interpret standards, and we have to ensure that they work together - this is often a mess, which we have to deal with. But thats our problem, and if regardless all the mess (which is NOT created by us), phones are working, it means we resolved that

    Best regards,
    David

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. incoming calls with "unknown number"
    By dolmen in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-22-2008, 05:13 PM
  2. Quadro 2X "The Number You Have Dialled Is Unavailable"
    By P00HB33R in forum Troubleshooting and Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2008, 12:18 PM
  3. Voice mail message sound is "dial tone" except words.
    By riskdata in forum Troubleshooting and Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 12:09 PM
  4. Use built-in TFTP server to provision "Other" phones
    By mobidutch in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-18-2008, 09:37 AM
  5. How to "transfer" calls between IP and analog lines?
    By mobidutch in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-17-2008, 02:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •