Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Quadro as PPTP client of win 2003 server, connecting....

  1. #1

    Default Quadro as PPTP client of win 2003 server, connecting....

    Hi.

    I'm trying to get the quadro to connect as a client to a WIN 2003 Vpn.

    On the PPTP config page
    Peer Name: set to windows login account name
    Password: corresponding password

    CHAP: off
    MSCHAP : off
    MSCHAPv2: on
    MPPE: MPPE128

    Using a windows client I can connect to the windows2003 server.

    On the quadro it says connecting.... and never does ;-(

    Here is the connection log....

    using channel 70
    Using interface ppp1
    Connect: ppp1 <--> /dev/pts/0
    sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 < mru 1000> < asyncmap 0x0> < magic 0x4648a5d7> < pcomp> < accomp>]
    rcvd [LCP ConfReq id=0x0 < mru 1400> < auth 0xc227> < magic 0x5785467d> < pcomp> < accomp> < mrru 1614> < endpoint [local:72.b1.b2.a0.fb.7b.44.e8.9a.b7.56.c8.79.80.fe .11.00.00.00.00]> < 17 04 00 2a>]
    sent [LCP ConfRej id=0x0 < mrru 1614> < 17 04 00 2a>]
    rcvd [LCP ConfAck id=0x1 < mru 1000> < asyncmap 0x0> < magic 0x4648a5d7> < pcomp> < accomp>]
    rcvd [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 < mru 1400> < auth 0xc227> < magic 0x5785467d> < pcomp> < accomp> < endpoint [local:72.b1.b2.a0.fb.7b.44.e8.9a.b7.56.c8.79.80.fe .11.00.00.00.00]>]
    sent [LCP ConfNak id=0x1 < auth chap MS-v2>]
    rcvd [LCP ConfReq id=0x2 < mru 1400> < auth chap MS-v2> < magic 0x5785467d> < pcomp> < accomp> < endpoint [local:72.b1.b2.a0.fb.7b.44.e8.9a.b7.56.c8.79.80.fe .11.00.00.00.00]>]
    sent [LCP ConfAck id=0x2 < mru 1400> < auth chap MS-v2> < magic 0x5785467d> < pcomp> < accomp> < endpoint [local:72.b1.b2.a0.fb.7b.44.e8.9a.b7.56.c8.79.80.fe .11.00.00.00.00]>]
    remote negotiated = 1, his mru = 1400
    local negotiated = 1, want mru = 1000, got mru = 1000
    allowed mru = 1000
    sent [LCP EchoReq id=0x0 magic=0x4648a5d7]
    rcvd [CHAP Challenge id=0x0 <9c80053aaf1b5d267e80285eecfb3765>, name = "NEW3493M3"]
    sent [CHAP Response id=0x0 <611bb8f248b1ec9bc3360e25342e762a0000000000000000f fbc64ae128e7513c0ce6c425b6fa4ccf9ce41fdbedb42de00> , name = "quadro"]
    rcvd [LCP EchoRep id=0x0 magic=0x5785467d]
    rcvd [CHAP Failure id=0x0 "E=691 R=1 C=2A825ADB2F5B9E49C9D17EBA9C6030EB V=3"]
    Remote message: Unknown authentication failure: E=691 R=1 C=2A825ADB2F5B9E49C9D17EBA9C6030EB V=3
    CHAP authentication failed
    sent [LCP TermReq id=0x2 "Failed to authenticate ourselves to peer"]
    rcvd [LCP TermAck id=0x2 "Failed to authenticate ourselves to peer"]
    Connection terminated.
    Waiting for 1 child processes...
    script /bin/pptp 2YY.XX.224.164 --nolaunchpppd, pid 618
    Script /bin/pptp 2YY.X224.164 --nolaunchpppd finished (pid 618), status = 0x0

    What have I got wrong?

    Thanks
    Rhys

  2. #2

    Default

    authentication failure

    Seems like a username or password issue


    Regards

    Kevin

  3. #3

    Default

    Hello,

    You are right, this is a username problem. Quadro uses its hostname for authorization. It means that you have to create a user on Win2003 with Quadro hostname(the default is "quadro" or "quadrom"). It is mentioned in online help of Quadro starting from 5.0.x images.

    Please try and you will not have any problem with connection.

    Regards.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks for that. I was on version 4.77 of the firmware.

    I can now establish a connection from the quadro to the windows 2003 server. I now need to find out how to route the LAN side of the quadro 192.168.69.x to the remote server's subnet of 192.168.10.x.
    Is this what the Edit VPN Route page is for? I've select the PPTP->servername and added route to:
    192.68.10.0/32
    But this doesn't work.
    I've also tried 192.168.10.50 which is the internal address on the wins 2003 server. The server is also bound to 192.168.10.3.

    I can ping these addresses from the quadro.

    Thanks again!
    Cheers
    Rhys

  5. #5

    Default

    Hello Rhys.

    You have properly configured the Quadro side. I mean the route to 192.168.10.0/24 -> VPN.
    But you also need to create a routing on the Windows side, something like this 192.168.69.0/24 -> VPN. In this case, the subnets will be visible to each other.

    Thanks.

  6. #6

    Default

    Thanks Vahan.
    I think you are correct, and that's the path I've been trying to take, but am struggling!
    It's a production server so I'm also very nervous!
    The RAS gateway is 198.168.69.50. The main nic is also bound to 192.168.69.3 as well as it's public addresses. I have recently set the quadro login up so that it gets a fixed IP address of 198.168.69.70, and the quadro VPN client does connect and get this address.

    I tried this, attempting to add a route to the Quadro lan side:
    route add 192.168.69.0 mask 255.255.255.0 192.168.10.70

    then:

    tracert 192.168.69.100

    Tracing route to 192.168.69.100 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms qqqq.74.224.131
    2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms vl17.cat02-air.xxxx.net [yyy.48.17.252]
    3 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms fe-2-0.core6a.xxxx.net [yyy.48.5.58]
    4 * * ^C
    But it is trying to go via the external nic rather than the RAS gateway!

    Agggghh!

    Please help!

  7. #7

    Default

    Hello,

    Unfortunently I have never done a VPN route on Windows, so can't tell the exact solution for you.
    I have looked through the net and foud something, please have a look.

    http://www.howtonetworking.com/VPN/2003vpn1.htm

    Hope this will help you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Quadro VPN Client / Fixed IP?
    By administrator@wheelmax.com in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-23-2008, 12:30 PM
  2. Quadro ISDN Gateway SIP Proxy / Client - Connect to SoftPBX.
    By armonis in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 07:17 AM
  3. PPTP client to Win 2003 server VPN
    By rhysw in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 07:47 PM
  4. asterisk as client to quadro
    By tomcameron in forum 'How Do I' Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 03:47 PM
  5. Quadro NTP server
    By damovo in forum Troubleshooting and Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-05-2006, 12:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •