PDA

View Full Version : Removing ISDN text messages from inbound calls



mdutton
07-21-2008, 04:22 AM
Hi all

I have an issue with our Qaud ISDN gateway which is not a fault, but an ISDN feature that is causing us a minor inconvenience.

When we get calls from mobile phones via our gateway, the carrier puts the text "MOBILE" in the caller ID string. The Quadro then presents "MOBILE" as the Displayname part of the TO: field in SIP. Our phones have only one line for caller ID, so all we see is "MOBILE". When we get a call from a landline, there is no message, so the gateway puts the phone number in as the displayname and it displays correctly on the handsets.

Does anyone know if it is possible through a setting to suppress ISDN text in the caller ID so only the number is presented to the SIP side?

Cheers

Mark Dutton

davrays
07-23-2008, 05:03 PM
I'll ask our ISDN specialists if there is a solution here...
On Snom phones, you could use the setting on the phone to show only the caller id and ignore Display name. Maybe your phones also have one..?

davrays
07-24-2008, 05:26 AM
It seems there is no good method yet to achieve what you want. In 5.0 we have an ability to modify the Display Name in Call Routing, but it doesn't allow to remove the display name completely. However I'll enter a request to implement that too, so probably we could have the solution in one of the 5.0 maintenance releases.

Best regards,
David

mdutton
07-27-2008, 10:01 PM
Thank you for that. It is not a killer problem, but we are actually using the gateway with a different IP PBX. The IP PBX, prefixes with Ext call:, so we get Ext call: PSTN - xxxxxxxxx on a landline call. There is not enough room on the line to see the number after all the other stuff. When a mobile calls in, we just see Ext Call: MOBILE.

We use the Quadro gateway as part of a solution with one of our enterprise PBX solutions as it supports NT and TE, whereas the other system has cards that only support TE on BRI. The Quadro BRI gateway is a mightly powerful little unit.

Sounds like v5 will fix it. I look forward to seeing V5 for the Quadro PBXs also.

Regards

Mark

mdutton
08-11-2008, 09:07 AM
Hi David.

You said in an earlier post that the ISDN display name could be changed in call routing on v5. I have installed v5.0.11 onto the gateway, but I don't see any difference in the routing table.

Here is the entry as I see it.

Inbound Call Type - Edit Entry

Inbound Caller Pattern: * (wildcard supported)
Inbound Number of Discarded Symbols:
Inbound Prefix:
Inbound Call Type:

This is how it was in v4.1.

Am I missing something here?

Regards

Mark

davrays
08-11-2008, 10:31 AM
Hmm... well, it looks this display name modification is done only for SIP and IPPSTN type routes, and is done on the other page of the wizard. Please give me a day or two, so I can sort out why it was implemented that way, and probably will change the design...

davrays
08-13-2008, 09:12 AM
Hello Mark,
after making some investigation on the subject, involving the corresponding developers, I found out that the feature was added without good thinking beforehand. Hence we'll redesign that a little bit, and move the Display Name modification (as well as Display Name removal capability) to the right place (the inbound call filter.modification page), which will allow to modify the DN for any type of call. I would expect this to be implemented very soon, but it can be published not sooner than in one month. So it can go to the release next to the next.
I am sorry for the inconvenience, I'll try to better control the features going into the releases
David

P.S. If you would like to have the version sooner, please contact out TSS after about two weeks. Maybe they will be able to provide you the developer image by that time.