PDA

View Full Version : STUN DOESN?T WORK VERY WELL



nortex
08-09-2006, 10:10 PM
STUN is a "workaround" that kinda works. Unfortunately, paying customers don't like something that works 80% of the time.


Plus, even when it does work, you can't have more than one remote phone behind a natted router.


The Fix? Buy a SIP-AWARE ROUTER. I just picked up an INTERTEX IX67. Cheap, works perfectly, no-brainer to setup, and you can have as many remote phones as you want on a natted network.


Just make sure you disable STUN and other worksrounds. Good riddance!


Edited by: nortex

mgagik
08-10-2006, 10:51 PM
Hello !


Why are you thinking that you can't have more than one remote phone behind a natted router?


It's possible to have more than one remote phone behind a nat router.I have at least 3 remote extensions (behind the same NAT router) registered to Quadro.


You need to correctly configure your NAT router.
---------------------------------------------------------
Let's say you have 3 remote phones befind the nat router.
You should configure your phones and router like below example:


Remote_Phone1 configuration:
IP:192.168.1.10
SIP port:5010
RTP ports:6010-6019


Remote_Phone2 configuration:
IP:192.168.1.20
SIP port:5020
RTP ports:6020-6029


Remote_Phone1 configuration:
IP:192.168.1.30
SIP port:5030
RTP ports:6030-6039


In your NAT router you have to create 6 port forwarding rules, like this:


All incoming pakects with udp 5010 port, forward to 192.168.1.10 (This is for Phone1 SIP)
All incoming pakects with udp 5020 port, forward to 192.168.1.20 (This is for Phone2 SIP)
All incoming pakects with udp 5030 port, forward to 192.168.1.30 (This is for Phone3 SIP)
All incoming pakects with udp 6010-6019 ports, forward to 192.168.1.10 (This is for Phone1 RTP)
All incoming pakects with udp 6020-6029 ports, forward to 192.168.1.20 (This is for Phone2 RTP)
All incoming pakects with udp 6030-6039 ports, forward to 192.168.1.30 (This is for Phone3 RTP)


That is all.
Thanks.
----------------------------------------------------------Edited by: awhite

lebenton
08-15-2006, 01:06 PM
Hi mgagik,



Can you explain the corresponding setup on the Quadro with regards to
the various SIP and RTP ports used by the 3 remote extensions you
described above?



Thanks

mgagik
08-16-2006, 01:25 PM
Hi !!


There is no need to do extra configuration in the Quadro.


All you need is to configure your Remote phones correctly.
I mean:
. correct NAT Traversal configuration and (I hope from the previous message you understand the logic of NAT traversal in case of many VoIP devices behind the same NAT router)


. correct SIP proxy configurations.
In your phones as a SIP proxy (in some phones SIP registrar or SIP server) you have to specify the IP address of your Quadro and SIP port of Quadro. Please remember this is true, when your Quadro has public IP. But when your Quadro is placed behind NAT router, then on your phones as a SIP proxy you have to specify the IP address of NAT router.


I hope i answer your question :)


Thanks.