PDA

View Full Version : SIP/GSM Gateway



ritsadmin
02-08-2010, 12:54 PM
I am proposing a quadro 2x for a small office install - they make many calls from the office to a couple of remote workers and I would like to consider a sip/gsm gateway to reduce these call costs. Has anyone tested any with the quadro - they would not need to make more than one simultaneous call.

Something like the Portech MV-370....

I would like to setup a few specific call routing rules so that if for example
01234567 is dialled it roues directly to the gsm g/w on out over the gsm sim card.


Thanks

ritsadmin
02-08-2010, 01:09 PM
ok - just seen the post relating to the 2n product - anyone testes the Portech ?

KSComs
02-08-2010, 04:06 PM
Multitech also have a Sip to GSM Gateway... Its not bad if you can get over the frustration with the configuration program.

Once it is programmed and it doesnt really take much to do it.. it worls rather good... and can be used as a Trunk on any IP System.


Regards

Kevin

davrays
02-10-2010, 09:46 AM
Right yesterday a new document was published in the Epygi support portal, describing how to configure Quadro with TOPEX MobiLink GSM gateways: http://support.epygi.com/index.php?_m=downloads&_a=viewdownload&downloaditemid=1167. So now we have one more recommended GSM gateway brand/model..

Best regards,
David

ritsadmin
02-10-2010, 12:50 PM
Thanks for the input - I have decided to chance it and test a portech - they are less than 200 euros and the only limitation I understand with the unit is that they don't like 3g/hspda enabled sim cards.
I'll let you know if I need to order an alternative !

darylp
02-12-2010, 07:57 PM
Don't buy the Portech MV-370, the call quality is absolute crap.
The power-supply failed after 1 year and my MV-372, (dual channel version of the MV-370), failed in 1 channel.

Search Nicherons online eBay store for Quad Band Quad GSM 4x Gateway:
http://www.ebay.com

It is a rebadged GoIP 4 device, however the best documentation I've found is at the nicherons website.

ritsadmin
02-15-2010, 01:09 PM
Daryl, Thanks for the advice - I knew there must be a catch !!

Kevin - Is this the part code of the multitech MVPGSM-2 ? - I used to configure multitech modems 25 years ago ! - they still look the same !

David/Kevin - Can you give me your opinions on the quality of the Topex unit ? and how it may compare to the multitech?

darylp
02-15-2010, 05:40 PM
A major problem with VoIP generally is echo. Echo is most noticeable when there is delay.

The idea if you can reduce delay, even if there is echo, it may not be objectionable, if the delay is small.

So, at every stage, look at reducing delay. This means using g711 CODEC.

g729 introduces too much delay and the voice quality is just that little better using g711 which important for business where you may need to quote letters and numbers for orders etc.

KSComs
02-15-2010, 07:48 PM
Daryl, Thanks for the advice - I knew there must be a catch !!

Kevin - Is this the part code of the multitech MVPGSM-2 ? - I used to configure multitech modems 25 years ago ! - they still look the same !

David/Kevin - Can you give me your opinions on the quality of the Topex unit ? and how it may compare to the multitech?


Yes sir .. hit it in one ... the MVPGSM-2 is the one I was hinting to... it is good and works well... just a crappy gui that doesnt work with the latest browsers / java .. and a console program that is designed for pre windows vista / Win 7 etc... apart from that it works a treat...

Kev

ritsadmin
02-16-2010, 03:39 AM
There seems to be a nicheron product
Quad Band 1x GSM SIM Gateway: GSM <-> voip SIP account

`http://cgi.ebay.com/Quad-Band-1x-GSM-SIM-Gateway-GSM-voip-SIP-account_W0QQitemZ180446917716QQihZ008QQcategoryZ61 839QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Is the product you are suggesting daryl ?

ritsadmin
02-28-2010, 12:33 PM
ok - am waiting delibery of the Nicherons product suggested. Will let you know how I find it. Thanks for the suggestions.

davrays
03-16-2010, 02:49 PM
A major problem with VoIP generally is echo. Echo is most noticeable when there is delay.

The idea if you can reduce delay, even if there is echo, it may not be objectionable, if the delay is small.

So, at every stage, look at reducing delay. This means using g711 CODEC.

g729 introduces too much delay and the voice quality is just that little better using g711 which important for business where you may need to quote letters and numbers for orders etc.

Daryl, although I am generally agree to you about the echo, but there is something new to me in this post.. Why do you think the G.729 adds delay? I have never listened this and didn't experience too, and also I don't see any reason why it should do so (given that RTP is configured to have standard 20msec packetisation interval). Just curiuos...

KSComs
03-17-2010, 01:02 AM
Daryl, although I am generally agree to you about the echo, but there is something new to me in this post.. Why do you think the G.729 adds delay? I have never listened this and didn't experience too, and also I don't see any reason why it should do so (given that RTP is configured to have standard 20msec packetisation interval). Just curiuos...

My gutt tells me that perhaps the delay is more to do with the GSM network than anything else ???

I have found that depending on the carrier it can take from 5 to 12 seconds for a call to be established, and because of the transcoding involved at which ever point, could also add further delay...

That said.... traditionally the GSM network is full of points of latency and it doesnt matter what codec is used... there will be delays...

GSM / Mobile network can have up to 300ms + latency... it has nothing to do with the telephone system that the GSM Router is plugged into..

Try this...

From your own phone ... call your mobile.... and speak into the mouth piece of the phone and hear it in the mobile... latency occurs and in Oz ..

In Oz we have 3 / Vodafone / Optus / Telstra and every other man and his dawg offering GSM calls...there are distinct differences in the GSM networks... you will hear the difference... but you pay for what you get. !!!

Kev

ritsadmin
03-17-2010, 01:14 PM
I received the Nicheron product and I am pleased to say that in a lab it seems to work very well. I do have one slight issue (relating to outbound authorised voip lists - it seems not to care about only allowing the sip callers I have authorised) to be able to call over the g/w - probably something stupid in my config) but that aside I think it looks pretty good.

Thanks Daryl for the recommendation.

edgarlopes
06-03-2010, 10:19 AM
Hi every one

It's very easy to solve all the poor quality problems with the portech Gateways

Just instal an internal STUN server, configure the portech to use it and... Voilá

No more problems

Best regards

colton1237
08-17-2010, 06:28 AM
It is good and works well... just a crappy gui that doesnt work with the latest browsers / java .. and a console program that is designed for pre windows vista / Win 7 etc... apart from that it works a treat...

shandy7894
12-31-2010, 02:53 AM
I have decided to chance it and test a portech - they are less than 200 euros and the only limitation I understand with the unit is that they don't like 3g/hspda enabled sim cards.
I'll let you know if I need to order an alternative !

joebloggs
07-27-2011, 07:53 AM
Hi All,
I’m due to set-up my own telesales business and have heard about gsm gateways (www.packetmedia.co.uk/gsm_gateways.html) and that they can reduce you landline to mobile calls down by at least 50%. I’ve found these guys Packet Media (www.packetmedia.co.uk) and they seem to install them free on a contract term?? Anybody had any experiences with GSM Gateways???

joebloggs
07-27-2011, 08:43 AM
Hi All,
I’m due to set-up my own telesales business and have heard about gsm gateways (www.packetmedia.co.uk/gsm_gateways.html) and that they can reduce you landline to mobile calls down by at least 50%. I’ve found these guys Packet Media (www.packetmedia.co.uk) and they seem to install them free on a contract term?? Anybody had any experiences with GSM Gateways???

lunacom
07-28-2011, 01:54 AM
I recommend TOPEX MobiLink GSM gateways (problem zero with pbx Epygi), if you have the QuadroCall Pro (Ver.3.10) software, you can send SMS from PC!